AHA 2012 ACLS Guidelines

August 21, 2012

The American Heart Association releases new ACLS guidelines every 5 years based on research and data collected since the last guideline revision. This scientific research is compiled from resuscitation experts around the world, and incorporates the latest techniques and life support strategies. The guidelines mandated by the AHA serve as the foundation for life support training worldwide and are used by major organizations.

The most recent ACLS Guidelines were released in 2010, and will remain in effect until 2015. All ACLS certification courses abide by the 2010 AHA material, and no new guidelines will be issued until 2015.

If you trained with the older guidelines, you are not required to re-take an ACLS course until your 2-year certification expires. ACLS provider cards are valid for 2 years after their issue, even if the AHA guidelines have been revised.

Here is a summary of the 2010 ACLS Guideline Changes:

Chest Compression Changes

ACLS Pharmaceutical Changes

New Recommended Stroke Care

Post-Cardiac Arrest Care

Back to Blog Home

blog comments powered by Disqus